Parenting 101

Hot Topics


Early Childhood Mental Health

For short articles about various topics related to children's emotional health and behavior scroll down to Focus on ECMH Articles heading.

http://www.pakeys.org/pages/get.aspx?page=Programs_ECMH

Infant & Toddler Parenting:

Zero to Three: http://www.zerotothree.org/

Fussy Baby: http://www.askdrsears.com/topics/fussy-baby

T Berry Brazelton: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=10098366

Babies Rock with Books

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: http://www.cdc.gov/LifeStages/infants_toddlers.html

School Skills/ Kindergarten Readiness:

Born Learning: http://www.bornlearning.org/default.aspx?id=33

Pennsylvania's Early Learning Standards: http://www.pakeys.org/pages/get.aspx?page=career_standards

Kindergarten, Ready or Not? http://www.greatschools.org/students/academic-skills/150-kindergarten-ready-or-not.gs

Kindergarten Here I Come activity calendar - request a copy by emailing info@smartstartcc.org or calling Smart Start at 238-0331

Here I Come Calendar

NAEYC's position statement on School Readiness.

NAEYC's Young Children article about research on delaying kindergarten entry.

Office of Child Development and Early Learning recommendations regarding transitions for young children

Potty Training

Emotional Development & Mental Health:

http://www.emotionaldevelopment.org/

http://www.pbs.org/wholechild/abc/social.html

http://www.zerotothree.org/child-development/social-emotional-development/

Center for the Developing Child - The Foundations of Lifelong Health are Built in Early Childhood - http://developingchild.harvard.edu/topics/foundations_of_lifelong_health/child_and_family_mental_health/

Center for the Developing Child - Mental Health Problems in Early Childhood Can Impair Learning and Behavior for Life - http://developingchild.harvard.edu/index.php/resources/reports_and_working_papers/working_papers/wp6/

Sleep Issues:

Dr. Sears: http://www.askdrsears.com/topics/sleep-problems/faqs-about-sleep-problems

Mayo Clinic: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/child-sleep/CC00020

Sleep Foundation: http://www.sleepfoundation.org/article/sleep-topics/children-and-sleep

Eating and Feeding:

USDA Food and Nutrition Center: Read More

WebMD: http://children.webmd.com/guide/kids-healthy-eating-habits

http://kidshealth.org/parent/

http://www.choosemyplate.gov/kids/index.html

http://www.parenting.com/fitgeneration

Early Intervention:

Families Guide to Early Intervention in PA: http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/http;//www.portal.state.pa.us;80/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_251851_894426_0_0_18/072910_EI-Family-Guide.pdf

Families Guide to Early Intervention in PA Spanish version: http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/http;//www.portal.state.pa.us;80/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_251851_894425_0_0_18/072910_EarlyInt-Guide09-SP.pdf

http://www.autismspeaks.org/community/fsdb/category.php?sid=45&cid=2

http://www.firstsigns.org/index.html

http://www.childwelfare.gov/pubs/guide2011/disabilities.pdf

Free Screenings at Schlow Centre Region Library

pandora http://prente.com/
moncler